A Guide to Three Key Food Allergies

Posted 12-09-15 by In Worker Newsletter

In a 2014 survey, Canadian chefs said that allergy awareness is the country’s #1 food trend. Whether you work in the kitchen or front of house, you’ve probably noticed that more people than ever are asking for food that meets their allergy needs. Restaurants have had to become more aware of the kinds of allergies that exist and what foods contain them.

Here is a basic guide to a few of the allergies you might hear about from guests and some foods that have surprising ingredients.

noun_224963_cc

Milk/Dairy Allergy:

What it is:

People with a milk allergy are allergic to the milk proteins in milk (called “casein” and “whey”). Lactose intolerance (the inability to digest lactose) is different from a milk allergy.

What to watch for:

Some surprising foods that contain dairy/milk include: non-dairy creamer, deli meats, hot dogs and canned tuna.

noun_17743_cc

Egg Allergy:

What it is:

People can be allergic to the egg white, the egg yolk, or both. If someone has an egg allergy, it’s best to avoid serving any form of egg in food.

What to watch for:

Eggs can be in foods like marshmallows, mayonnaise, meringue and cake frostings.

noun_42344_cc

Wheat Allergy:

What it is:

Wheat allergies are often caused by gluten, which is in wheat, rye, barley and some oat products. Wheat is the most common grain in the North American diet so it can be tricky to avoid.

What to watch for:

Wheat is in many foods like breads, cereals, and crackers. It can also be in unlikely foods like beer, soy sauce, deli meats, ice cream and imitation crabmeat.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *